Eddie


His name’s Eddie. Eddie is the Heart of Gold’s shipboard computer, and is always in a constant state of amazement and excitement. That’s how this new PC is.

It was a real pain to get this one. My older PC was pretty much dead. It wasn’t broken down, but all support for hardware had ceased. Intel’s graphics drivers for 82845G had a virus which disabled the Task Manager and Registry, and I was forced to use Process Explorer, which, for the record, is fantastic.

Right, so I had to persuade dad to get a new PC. He delayed it till the boards ended, and little further away till the holidays started. Then I really began to pester him, with constant reminders. He gave an offer for a Dell desktop, which didn’t have even half the configurations I actually wanted, and cost nearly as much.

With Digit magazine’s help, I could design a PC which fit my budget, and conveniently forgot to include a PSU. The Zebronics cabinet I mentioned was not designed for the motherboard, and I now have this iBall cabinet. Dad was getting my PC assembled with the help of his office’s technicians. Apparently, none of them understood by AMD-based configuration. After a lot of “please papa”, he finally relented, gave the go, and here the PC is ready.

2×2 GB Corsair 800MHz DDR2 RAM

AMD Phenom II X4 @ 3.00 GHz per core

Leadtek GeForce GT 240 1GB

ASUS M4A785D-M PRO Motherboard

Seagate Barracude 7200.12 SATA 500GB Hard Drive

No floppy drive :(

While it may be a “far cry” (pun intended) from a gaming rig, it is enough for me. I’ll just play the occasional game at medium settings, but I really wanted to watch videos in HD. A friend handed over a Blu-Ray rip of Avatar. Bliss…

I have Windows 7 installed, and a download of Ubuntu’s Lucid Lynx has just been stopped. It’s Isadora all the way.

Now why did I go for AMD? Simple. It’s cheaper. Way cheaper. Core i7 began at Rs 14000/- and I could get my Phenom at 7500/-. Nice, huh?

Well, I’ve already finished Call of Duty: Modern Warfare. As usual, don’t expect any reviews.

*

Do watch this.

Don’t forget to watch in full screen high definition.

“Ronal–d’oh!”

**

Also, the UEFA Champions League final was epic. Hats of, Milito, though I was really was supporting Ribery-less Bayern Munich. Seems like Jose has got a magic wand with him.

Don’t worry, the best football club in the world will win the League next time.

Prepare for trouble treble

And make it double!”

15 comments

  1. Akshat Boobna · May 30, 2010

    Nice! Looks like we all like DNA names :p
    I’ve always stuck to intel..felt comfy. didn’t know there was so much of a price gap!

    • Aditya · May 30, 2010

      I was shocked too. Even Core 2 Quad was priced higher. IMHO, 7500 for a Quad Core Processor @ 3GHz is very, very good.

      • Akshat Boobna · May 30, 2010

        I got Core 2 Quad @ 2.86 Ghz for around 9k, though it was a year back. But still I doubt the 3.06 Ghz version would be as cheap as AMD

  2. karmanya · May 30, 2010

    Hey, stupid question – if you’re going in for an AMD proc cuz its cheaper, why not get an ATI card?. Same principle applies (Or at least did 9 months ago)

    • Aditya · May 30, 2010

      You’re right. My first choice was a 9600GT, and it wasn’t available. The dealer was supposed to get an ATi, but got a GeForce. Little sad, as my motherboard supports CrossFire.

  3. Samridh Kudesia · May 30, 2010

    Kewl !!!!
    but is there reallly just a little gap between i7 and phenom ??also, is phenom better than i5? (srry if i sound silly :D) how much did ddr3 ram cost ??
    also, I disagree with that Dell PC thing :p

    • Aditya · May 30, 2010

      Phenom is better than i5, IMHO. i7 is really good but highly priced. For i7, a quad-core processor clocked at 2.83 Ghz per core costs 14000.

  4. Samridh Kudesia · May 30, 2010

    i meant performance gap btw

  5. Ankur Banerjee · May 30, 2010

    My favourite mission in CoD4 is ‘Death from above’.

    • Aditya · May 30, 2010

      Hmm… Mine was the final mission(s). Entering the abort codes, and then finally shooting the bad guy while injured.

      • Ankur Banerjee · May 30, 2010

        MW2 is awesome too. Especially the ‘No Russian’ mission. (That’s the infamous one in the Russian airport.) Am I bad if I *enjoy* staying behind and killing each and every civilian, even if they’re injured and trying to crawl away?

        • Aditya · May 30, 2010

          I’ve heard a lot about that mission. Saw it on the GameSpot review. Chilling.

  6. Pingback: Reviews of the Games I’ve Been Playing « Shadow Line

Leave a Reply

