Competition Success Review #1: Interface 2008


The title has got nothing to do with the magazine.

I’ve started this brand new series to review all competitions I’ve visited this year.

Interface 2008

Venue: St. Xavier’s School, Raj Niwas Marg, Delhi

Montfort ruled Interface 2006 and 2007; I participated only in the latter with Mridul (in the quiz, obviously). This time, out luck kinda ran out.

We reached late because of the Unit Test exam on that day, and gave the quiz prelims after everybody. Although we got 15 minutes (and there was negative marking) we managed to qualify. It was the finals we screwed up.

Last time, we practically OWN3D every team. This time, the case was different. There was this stupid thing they did about taking all questions in one round from one site. The team sitting next to next to us could get all of them without waiting for the options. That surely means that those people read the questions from the same site. So we did real bad. Managed to finish second though. Here’s a conversation between Mridul, me and the … uhm … “quizmaster”

After reading the question on the screen

Mridul: I think it’s Orkut’s founder

Quizmaster: Give me the name

Mridul: Aditya, bol naa!

Me: I guess it’s Orkut Buddoyokonen or something like that. I can’t pronounce it, it’s a Turkish name.

Quizmaster: Give me the proper name.

Me: It’s Mr Orkut!

Quizmaster: Give me the full name.

Mridul: How can he pronounce it? It’s a Turkish name!!

Quizmaster: Spell it.

Heck, I can’t pronounce it, how the hell do I spell it? I’m not bad at spellings and all, but this?

Me: C’mon man.

Mridul: He said is Orkut Buddoyokonen!

Quizmaster: If you argue, I’ll disqualify you.

Me: Fine! I’ll keep my mouth shut then.

And the whole crowd jeered cheered. Whoo!

Quizmaster: Fine, I’ll give it to you.

He had to succumb anyway. And for all you in-quiz-itives out there, the founder of Orkut is Orkut Büyükkökten. Try pronouncing that!!

The refreshments sucked. Period.

To top it all, huge buses stood in front of out Qualis, which refused to budge until 2 o’ clock. Heck, I had my English paper the next day, and I left the place in a storm Metro.

6 comments

  1. prateekv · March 4, 2009

    @ Aditya – Really good series. Is Interface worth attending? Because we never get the invite…So maybe this year I will try to go for it.

    • Aditya · March 4, 2009

      Yes, Interface is worth attending. Though the level is not so good, and nor is the food, yet the service is excellent. Even when we reached late, they generously accepted our fate and allowed us to give the paper. Many schools don’t do that.

  2. Prateek Vijayavargia · March 4, 2009

    @ Aditya – Rite then, do tell me when its held next year. Because our school does not get an invite.
    And yes, how about a post on ur home fest – G@TEWAY?

    • Aditya · March 5, 2009

      I’m writing one about that. Will be up soon.

  3. umesh prasad singh · June 20, 2009

    competition success review has transformed my life in the pattern of academic and training and research in totality and existence. i feel that csr can re-orient the charateristic style of any young scholar of our country in a right realm of research and personality enhancement .

    • Aditya · June 20, 2009

      I really think you should consider reading the first line of this post.

      The title has got nothing to do with the magazine.
      I’ve started this brand new series to review all competitions I’ve visited this year.

Leave a Reply

