The Weekend That Was But Shouldn’t Have Been


Thats true. I was beginning to install Mac OS X Leopard, when I get a Windows XP update alert, which requires me to restart. I do so, and I see this

Error! No Operating System Found

To my horror, when I booted via Gparted, I saw that my hard drive had been wiped clean, and there was 80 GB of unpartitioned space. I was screwed.

I tried installing Mac OS X now, thinking that what could possibly go wrong. I managed to install it, but can not boot it. I tried installing Darwin using bash terminal, but I failed in that too.

Aha! I re-installed XP, and downloaded a copy of Windows Se7en 32-bit, and decided to install it.

It was a nightmare.

First burn it to the DVD, and boot from it.

Two options:

Upgrade

Custom

Naturally, I clicked upgrade! Then this:

For an upgrade, you need to have an earlier Windows operating system running in the background.

So I reset. Go back to Windows XP, and put in the DVD. Same steps. Clicked Upgrade.

Sorry. For an upgrade, you have to have at least Windows Vista Service Pack 1 installed.

Damn. So I click on the Back icon (that blue arrow which you see in Internet Explorer 7) and click Custom Install. I see C: Drive, and click Next.

Setup cannot continue as the following drivers are missing: Primary IDE Channel

Did I say damn?

I am so frustrated, I feel like blowing the DVD to smithereens. But I keep my cool, and boot once again from the DVD. After selecting Custom Install, I realised that I could not install Windows 7 on C: drive, as XP was installed on it. So, I reset and boot via Gparted, do some easy partitioning (yay! Linux!), and return to Windows 7. I have a 20GB D: drive now, and I select that for installation.

Nothing.

I study Acute Diseases. Five minutes later: Nothing

I study Means of Spread. Ten minutes later: Nothing

I study Organ-Specific and Tissue-Specific Manifestation. Fifteen Minutes later: Something!

There’s that dialog box asking me to set the time zone and the country.

It

Has

India!!

Hooray!!!

So I continue. After about half-an-hour or so, I am able to run Windows 7. Its great. Will post about it later.

But I should have been able to run Mac OS X. My luck.

But I am able to dual boot XP and Se7en.

6 comments

  1. Tapas · January 27, 2009

    Yeah well, 7 was bound to get a good review. But do I have to infer that Mac OSX cant be installed by any means ??? I hope not.

  2. Ankur Banerjee · January 27, 2009

    Ungrateful chap. 😛 Linux (“My precioussssss!”) helped him so much, yet he doesn’t install it.

  3. Aditya · January 27, 2009

    @Tapas: *sigh* I guess you’re right; instead of a VM, there’s no other alternative.

    @Ankur Banerjee: Who, me? Ungrateful! I’ve been with Linux for nearly three years. I’ve tried DSL, Fedora, Gentoo, Ubuntu [Gutsy, Hardy and Ibex], Mint, etc. So I kinda got bored with all that incompatibility issues, but I simply *loved* Hardy Heron. Though many claimed that it was unstable, it worked perfectly for me. And along with CompizFusion, I could scoff at my Vista friends for rotating virtual desktops in a 3D cube, Seeing through windows using the mouse wheel, writing with fire on the desktop, the list is endless. Ask any Montfortian techie, and he’ll tell you that I ran Gateway 2008 ENTIRELY on Ubuntu.

    Except the quiz that is, as it needed to be controlled via Bluetooth. I wasn’t able to compile the software through which the mobile interfaced with the PC.

  4. Ankur Banerjee · January 27, 2009

    Ah. Nice. 🙂

  5. Mridul Kapoor · January 28, 2009

    Yes, he did, I testify.

    And yes.. please continue with competition success review

  6. Aditya · January 29, 2009

    @Mridul Kapoor: Thank you betaaa. I will continue CSR,

Leave a Reply

