Fix Your Hung iPod


Many times, your iPod may hang, depriving you of musical bliss. You may knew how to fix it; but you might forget that manner at home. Heres what you do in such cases.

Presenting the iPod Five Minute Fix. Scroll to the bottom for supported models.

Works only with an iPod having a click wheel. Will not work with your iPod Touch or iPod Shuffle.

1] There should be a Hold button on the top of your iPod. Set it to ON. A fluorescent orange thingy must be visible. This means that the iPod is on hold.

The Hold Button Location On The Top Of Your iPod

The Hold Button Location On The Top Of Your iPod

The iPod In Hold Mode. Notice the Fluoroscent Orange Thingy.

The iPod In Hold Mode. Notice the Fluoroscent Orange Thingy.

2] Now, return the Hold button to its original position. The orange thingy should not be visible now. If it is, start all over again. Try working you iPod now.

3] If it still doesn’t work, try this. Press and hold the Menu and the Center button for five seconds. Take somebody’s help if you wish. Make sure the Hold button is in its original position.

Click Wheel

Click Wheel

4] The Apple logo must now be visible on the screen, which usually occurs against a black background. The iPod should now be reset to the settings in which is last functioned perfectly.

Apple Logo

Apple Logo

List Of Supported iPod Models

30 comments

  1. Mudit Aggarwal · February 4, 2009

    Its pretty nice. How do u get all that?

    • grace · July 24, 2010

      thank you soooo much!!!

  2. Aditya · February 4, 2009

    @Mudit Aggarwal: Personal experience, beta. My iPod hung the five minutes before leaving for Lucknow (It must be scared of Ashutosh). I discovered this way out of frustration. I lost my iPod manual.

    Oh and BTW, I have the iPod Nano 2nd Generation.

  3. Puspa · April 27, 2009

    Hey, thank you for your info. I was like scared to death when I got this hang problem. Now I’m smiling and singin’ again πŸ˜€

  4. DAD · August 10, 2009

    My daughter is eternally grateful. Thanks!

  5. Angelofdelhi · January 16, 2010

    Something u said wrong…. It wont reset to the last working configuration but it will reset to the factory setting…. All your setting will be gone…. Including playlists, settings, etc etc… Regards
    Shubham Gupta

    P.S- On restarting hold the center and left button to get into diagnostic mode…. Looks cool and is very imp. in case u need a recovery….

  6. Angelofdelhi · January 16, 2010

    Hey @Mudit Aggarwal If you have mind and time…. Do look into your Ipod manual….. You will get all this there……

  7. Angelofdelhi · January 16, 2010

    I did the second this with Ashutosh and he was crying….. Shubham hacked my Ipod……. Someone help Shubham hacked my Ipod…….

  8. yuankhun12 · March 13, 2010

    thanks men

  9. Christian · April 6, 2010

    Thank you very much! This helped me a lot!

  10. LJ · May 7, 2010

    thanks SOoooooooo much! super helpful!

  11. Jen · May 22, 2010

    thanks much! i’ve been worrying about this since last night! =(
    it worked!

  12. prithvi · June 2, 2010

    thank you very much πŸ™‚ keep the good work up

  13. zeinab · June 6, 2010

    i reset setting network my ipod touch to get rid of all my contacts and music etc but it wont work now.the main screen show wire and picture of itunes software.can help me please???

    • Aditya · June 6, 2010

      Connect the iPod to iTunes and download the iPod firmware again, by choosing the restore option. Be warned though. After this, your iPod will be as it was when you bought it – completely empty. And all jailbreaks would disappear.

  14. Gino · July 21, 2010

    My iPod Photo 4G hangs after an hour play time. It does this regularly at roughly the same battery level. Is this software or is the battery shot? It display about 85-90% charge when it hangs.

  15. kenny · July 25, 2010

    THANKS SOO MUCH! πŸ˜€

  16. zherln · October 3, 2010

    still doesn’t work for my 3rd Gen iPod! =(

  17. Christian Somera · January 23, 2012

    Thanks! I do appreciate your effort doing this, keep it up mate!

  18. Keisee Aspa · January 24, 2012

    YOU ARE A LIFE SAVER!
    I did the 3rd instruction. I was putting songs for my husband then when i tried to play it, it hanged!
    Anyway, thanks again!

  19. Cedric Bruin · January 30, 2012

    Good web site and great post. Many thanks.

  20. green smoke e cig review · March 25, 2013

    I think the admin of this web site is really working hard in support of his site, as here
    every information is quality based stuff.

  21. landing page design portfolio · August 19, 2014

    Good day very nice site!! Guy .. Beautiful .. Amazing .. I’ll bookmark your web site and take
    the feeds additionally? I am happy to seek out so many helpful info right here in the post, we need work out more techniques on this regard,
    thank you for sharing. . . . . .

  22. looky · August 24, 2014

    I just bought a new computer and would like the same settings I have on my other computer. How do I go about doing this? The one thing I want to change in firefox on my new computer is when I type a website in the address bar I would like it to show my history instead of my bookmarks. I changed it before but I can’t remember what I did..

  23. freeware data recovery windows 8 · September 2, 2014

    I had two computers both connected to a wireless router. Yesterday I connected a third computer to the network and, although the connection goes through for this new computer, one of the original computers now says “Limited or no connectivity” and cannot connect to the Internet. Is it possible that the new computer is using up too much bandwidth and is therefore preventing the other computer from accessing the Internet?.

  24. natural supplement weight loss · September 12, 2014

    Thing is, I’ve just migrated to WordPress. However, I have a number of people who have subscribed to my feeds from my blogger blog. What should I do to ensure that they now receive updates from my WordPress blog? . . FYI, I have a feedburner account..

  25. ilman vakuuksia · September 21, 2014

    What are the most effective WordPress plugins to attract the most relevant traffic, the most relevant traffic and maximize website sales?. . I am thinking maybe:. 1. RSS feed plugins, . 2. Cost Per Action (CPA) plugins or code snippets, . 3. Affiliate plugins and/or links. . Can you provide links to the tools that you think are the best, and let me know why you think they are the best?.

  26. ig · September 21, 2014

    How do I make firefox show at the top of my start list?

  27. Is it necessary to get the copyright of the game content developed individualy before publication?

  28. diet supplements weight loss · September 30, 2014

    I’m studying Journalism at the University of Minnesota, and I am looking for a good website to start blogging on. I’m mostly looking for a good sports blogging website, but a music website would also be of interest. I’ve heard about Bleacher Report, is that one of the main sites?.

Leave a Reply

