Competition Success Review #6: TCS IT Wiz 2008


“Toh finally CodeWars jaayenge ki nahi?”

“Pata nahi. 11 December ko tayyar rahiyo”

“Aur Exun?”

“Nahi. Us din meri FITJEE ki class hai. Par 11 December ko tayyar rahiyo. Us din mein ekdum free hoon.”

Mridul of ecstatic and obsessed with going to TCS IT Wiz, on 11 December. Last time, I was in Manali, and missed CodeWars as well as TCS IT Wiz. Mrittunjoy and Mridul went together, were coming first, and then lost out due to their overcautious mentality. This time, Mridul wanted no mistake whatsoever. He wanted to win it this time.

So he told me to be ready. 11 December was the big day. Shikhar and Arpit were going together; the latter went only to see IIT, which was the venue. TCS was to be held a long time ago (usually at Siri Fort), but the venue was changed to IIT, Dogra Hall. Mrittunjoy was going with another kid, whose name I wouldn’t reveal. He is the trump card in Montfort quizzing.

On the 10th of December, Mridul and me were preparing furiously for TCS IT Wiz. I paid extra attention at all Apple-related stuff. Especially watching the older Mac ads. Finally, tomorrow comes, contrary to the popular belief of our teachers.

“Tomorrow never comes”

Mridul and I have already circulated the Halloween Documents, which is a secret 5 MB PDF consisting of trivia and quiz questions. I have it stored in my mobile, ready to access it anytime. I knew reading Babel was useless, as no acronyms would be asked anyway.

Until last year, I had never been to a big quiz like this. In 2009, TCS IT Wiz the third one, the former two being Jack Kilby TI Quiz (to which I have a certain fondness, as I own a TI modem), and the Aqua Regia T.I.M.E Quiz. Both were Science quizzes. And both were tough.

But this time, it was different. I knew I stood a chance of qualifying, and winning. Because of Montfort’s impressive form at all tech quizzes, where we won at least something.

We reach the place, which is packed. The event starts off schedule, as there are answer sheets being distributed. Finally, it begins, and Giri “Pickbrain” makes a dramatic appearance. After the traditional hi-hello-welcome, we come to know about the delay in the programme. An unprecedented number – 650 teams have turned up, and IIT Dogra Hall has run out of seats – people are sitting on the floor. LOL! New answer sheet photocopies have to be made, and more refreshments are ordered.

The prelims are officially underway.

1] Name the general purpose very-high level programming language designed by Rossum. [Hint: It is dangerous.]

“Kya ho sakta hai?

“Its dangerous… Python?”

“Haan!”

2] It was created by James Gosling, and is alternatively known as theΒ  Oak Project.

“Obvious hai yaar. Java hai. Maine ye answer class 6 mein diya tha.”

9] Which product led Cisco to file a lawsuit on trademark infringement against Apple Inc.?

“iPhone.”

“Mridul, sure hai na?”

“Of course. iPhone Cisco ka modem hai.”

“Hoga.”

10] The acquisition of which company by Google Inc. marked their entry into the world of mobile device software?

“Arre yaar Mridul. Lifehacker par padh padh ke bore ho gaya hoon.”

11] Photorealistic Renderman or PR Man is the product owned by which company? [Hint: It is owned by a company which makes many animation films.]

“Pixar. Pakka Mridul. Meine iCon mein padha tha. Hint ki zaroorat hi nahi thi”

19] Which service do all Apple Inc. devices, such as the Macbook, the iMac, the iPhone and the iPod Touch, use to synchronize data?

“Hmm. Pata nahi yaar. I don’t remember reading this.”

And those were a few prelim questions. Download the entire prelims archive here.

Then answers. We got about 15 correct. Then refreshments time. Which means its time to meet up with the others. Just before we go out, Mridul has to go to the loo. I meet V.S Karthik there.

“Last wale question ka kya answer tha?”

“Kingston”

“Oh no!”

“You didn’t get Kingston?”

C’mon, it was the easiest question in the quiz!

Now, we meet Prashanth Kanduri, who is looking confident.

“Kitne aaye?”

“15”

“Same here.”

“Prashanth? Game ka kya likha?”

“It was Gears of War.”

“You wrote it?”

“No. But I’m sure its Gears of War.”

Shikhar, former X360 owner, who heard this conversation, had the following words to express:

“Jab Prashanth ne Gears of War kaha, itna gussa aa raha tha! Gears of War mein when you’re hit, there’s a hand which appears in the centre, when you have low health. Then you recover.”

Whoa. When Shikhar takes interest in something, he learns about it in perfection. Like GoW, and the entire Adobe suite. He is an expert in working with After Effects and Photoshop, and even knows their CS3 and CS4 codenames, which most quizzers might not know. Most includes me.

Finally, we are back. Now for the results.

Giri- “Before I announce the qualifiers, a special mention on certain teams who missed out. Coming eighth, Vivek Nair and Karthick from DPS Vasant Kunj!”

<Applause>

I was clapping really hard. So hard that my hands and the nearby listener’s ears turn red. Such was the case with Shikhar.

“Itni zor se kya mar raha hai?”

“They deserve it. They really do.”

</Applause>

Mridul- “Did you know, last time Ramit Singhal came seventh.”

Me- “Unlucky chap, to have missed out like that.”

Giri- “And coming seventh, is a team which comprises of a young quizzer from 9th…”

Me- “Can’t be us!”

“… and a quizzer from 12th…”

Me- “Damn”

“… Mridul Kapoor and Aditya, from Montfort School, who lost out by just 1 mark!”

Mridul- “Groan…”

We go up in silence, and collect a pair of Philips headphones each, and a dinner for two at Trident hotel in Gurgaon, which we haven’t used till date.

This is too much man. We lose out just by one mark! Unbelievable stuff. Kalka, DPS RKP, DPS Noida, Springdales are amongst some who qualified.

I saw the entire quiz. Mridul and me know almost all of the answers. One was even repeated.

“A Microsoft codec was reverse-engineered to form another codec. Name it”

It was XviD. But the quiz finals were great. Some questions were really good. DPS Noida (who won in WarP) were winning, but DPS RKP fought. Fought hard. And they stole the quiz in the connect round. I think they got nearly 30 points there.

In the last round, Springdales gave a charge and threatened to displace DPS Noida from 2nd spot, but the latter prevailed. DPS RKP won a lappie each, and dinner at Shangri-La. Very bad.

We went home in gloom. I hope I win it this time.

28 comments

  1. Ankur Banerjee · February 16, 2009

    TCS IT Wiz has way too much luck in it. The level of questions asked is laughable.

  2. Rohan · February 16, 2009

    So where are the halloween docs? πŸ˜›

    I wanna win this next year πŸ™‚

  3. Aditya · February 16, 2009

    @Rohan: They are with me… I do not expect them to give them to anybody!
    Er… Which school are you in?

  4. Mridul Kapoor · February 16, 2009

    @Ankur::
    “Too many sitters seperating too many good quizzers”

  5. Rohan · February 19, 2009

    Aditya..I live in Bangalore, and came 2nd this year πŸ˜› So If you still want to know my school, its St Joseph’s .

    if you are feeling generous, maybe I could have a copy of those files?

  6. Aditya · February 19, 2009

    @Rohan: Alright, matey! But I ask for a favour. Can you provide me with a quiz archive of the finals?
    P.S:If I had qualified, we might have met on stage. My teammate and me knew a many final answers πŸ˜‰

  7. Mridul Kapoor · February 21, 2009

    BTW when is the last date for the “executive lunch” that we can avail ?

  8. Aditya · February 21, 2009

    @Mridul Kapoor: *sob* The date is 28th February 😦

  9. prateekv · March 4, 2009

    @Aditya and Mridul – Finishing 8th out of so many teams is no mean feat. Its a great achievement, and Aditya – You have nothing to worry about, you still have 3 more shots at the Quiz. I am sure you will win the Quiz one day.

    Also, the TCS IT Wiz should somehow be revamped. It should have 30 Questions in the Prelims, and a longer finals. Also No of teams per school should be fixed at around 10. The Quiz is too commercialized, i feel and as Ankur said, there is too much luck involved. I would still anyday prefer the Jack Kilby Science and Technology Quiz – Its pure quizzing. Nothing else.

    • Aditya · March 5, 2009

      *Gulp*. So many expectations… I hope I’ll win the quiz at least once.

  10. prateekv · March 4, 2009

    @ Aditya – Errata. Sorry you finished 7th…Not 8th.

  11. gursartaj · October 19, 2009

    dps rkp does have a history of making comebacks at tcs it wiz.

    • Aditya · October 19, 2009

      Yes. Ankur (Banerjee) told me about your TCS IT Wiz win.

  12. gursartaj · October 19, 2009

    if you know what i mean

  13. Samridh Kudesia · November 4, 2009

    hello
    i m samridh and am appearing in the lucknow edition
    can u mail me those halloweeen docs to me at samridh94@yahoo.com? pls?
    i m in lko, so no competition to u!

  14. Anirudh · November 5, 2009

    Hello
    I am too from Lucknow..
    Can u plz mail me the halloween docs ?
    I want to make it to the stage this year.. and it is my last year
    I have been trying to qualify for the quiz for the past 2 yrs.. Everytime I finish 7th or 8th.

  15. Samridh Kudesia · November 5, 2009

    hello anirudh! Do u know when its being held in lko?
    it was scheduled for 7th nov i think but now its postponed for 15 dec I suppose.
    can u tell me the exact date pls?
    btw, i’ll be givin u competition this yr dude πŸ˜‰

  16. Samridh Kudesia · November 5, 2009

    anirudh send me ur mail id.

  17. Anshul · November 26, 2009

    I need guidance to prepare for the TCS quiz

    Im in the 9th grade in Chennai

  18. Anirudh · November 26, 2009

    @Samridh
    U are from which school and why do you want my email id ?

    • saridh kudesia · November 27, 2009

      @anirudh
      just like that , no particular reason

  19. Anirudh · November 26, 2009

    TCS IT Wiz Lucknow Edition is on 15 December.
    @crystalunicorn
    Cen u plz give me the haloween docs ?

  20. Pingback: Competition Success Review #2: TCS IT Wiz 2009 « Shadow Line
  21. Jai keerthy · March 26, 2010

    Anything should be worth winning. This needs an intensive preparation and after winning the winners walk away with just a laptop. I really feel pity on them. Even the whole event should be changed and also the prizes. This is really too commersial. Anything which is prepared so hardly should be worth of something.

  22. rajath · July 18, 2011

    Hi !
    I am rajath from Bangalore , tell u wat ?
    w are probably lucky since 8 teams would qualify 4 the prelims in b’lore !!!!
    anyway feel sorry 4 u , bttr luck nxt time.

    ATB 4 TCS !

  23. Every weekend i used to go to see this site,
    because i wish for enjoyment, as this this site conations truly
    nice funny material too.

  24. dermadent mole removal cream · June 30, 2013

    Simply wish to say your article is as astonishing.
    The clearness in your post is just excellent and i could assume you’re an expert on this subject. Fine with your permission let me to grab your RSS feed to keep updated with forthcoming post. Thanks a million and please keep up the gratifying work.

  25. does diet paptch work · July 1, 2013

    Piece of writing writing is also a fun, if you know afterward you can write or else it is complex to write.

Leave a Reply

