Stabilizing the Blinking ADSL Light


Remember the post on boosting your MTNL broadband I had written some time ago? It was written in a time of blissful ignorance, and my early days as a blogger. Why I didn’t take it down, you ask? Because of hilarious comments. Do read the comments page.

So this post is equally ridiculous. I don’t know why it works, but it works. And Indians have an in-built feature to do so many jugaads.

Cables were stolen in my neighbourhood few weeks ago, leaving me with twenty days of no Internet. When they reinstalled it, the connection was highly erratic. The main problem, the freakin’ ADSL light used to blink on and on.

This wasn’t new. It used to happen when I first got broadband about five years ago. I had developed a jugaad back then. And it’s time I publish. The secret to making *drumroll* that ADSL light *nails biting* stable *music reaches to crescendo* is…

Unhooking the phone.

Huh?

Huh?

You heard me! Unhooking the phone! So next time, when your ADSL light begins to blink periodically, and it appears that it is never going to be stable, simply unhook the phone. Hear the dial tone, keep the phone aside, the ADSL light will be stable in about a minute or less.

IĀ  this is ridiculous, I know it shouldn’t work, but hey it does. And that’s what matters. I even tried it at Mridul’s house. He was as surprised as you were.

Poof. Try this at home. And then hurl abuses at me. I’m off to reading chemistry.

11 comments

  1. Shikhar · July 19, 2010

    Well, this isn’t completely ridiculous. I’ve been using this “technique” for quite sometime. I think this is because of some problem with the DSL filter, because when some guy from MTNL replaced my splitter the internet started working again i.e. without the need of unhooking the phone. But never ask them WHY this happens, I asked that guy once:
    Internet theek kaise kiya?
    Pata nahi babuji, hum to idhar-udhar haath maar rahe the. Apne aap hi ho gaya!
    A possible explanation for this could be that when we unhook the phone and get the dial tone a small amount of current flows through the line. This transition in the line condition might affect the Data line and we get reconnected.

  2. Pulkit Kaushik · July 19, 2010

    Been there, done that. It actually works but only for a minute or two.

  3. Akshat · July 20, 2010

    I normally switch the modem off for a few seconds, and its starts working again. Will try this one too, next time.

  4. Apoorv Khatreja · July 21, 2010

    If your DSL/Phone splitter is properly working then your phone being help up or kept down shouldn’t make any difference.

    2 things you can do to fix it permanently.

    1) Get your line parameters checked (SNR Margin, Line Attenuation, look them up in your router config if you don’t know what I’m talking about). Get someone sensible to do it, because that line man from the MTNL exchange knows as much about networks as a chimpanzee.

    2) Get a new splitter. A better one. The one that MTNL gives you is known to be crappy (Source: First hand experience). I got a new one from Nehru Place for 50 bucks I think, and it worked like a charm.

    You could also try changing the modulation mode to G.DMT or the other modulations available. Try different permutations of the above fixes to get the result that works best for you. Time spent doing this once is worth it.

    And of course, if nothing works, you might want to move to a better ISP.

  5. Samridh Kudesia · July 21, 2010

    cool. will try it with bsnl šŸ˜€

  6. mrinaltech · August 22, 2010

    Pretty much explainable, I guess.

    Voice requests have infinitely higher priority than data requests on ISPs. So when you pick up the phone, the ISP is waiting for u to dial a number, giving you higher priority, jiska “naazayaz faayda” internet uthaata hai šŸ˜›

  7. Namanyay Goel · September 3, 2011

    It works. For hours too. I thought i was the one who discovered it, until i saw this post šŸ˜›

  8. Pingback: My D-Link 2640b DSL light is off. WHY?
  9. wifi Thermostat · November 6, 2012

    Appreciation to my father who stated to me about
    this website, this weblog is genuinely remarkable.

  10. mtnl - madar***d tu nahi lagega · December 4, 2012

    it works for me too but i need to fix it permanently. unhooking the phone every 2 hours – damn !! dats not how a broadband is supposed to work !!

  11. MIT · October 18, 2013

    Yes.it works.I accidentally discover it when i pickup the receiver to call BSNL about ADSL light not ON problem.

Leave a Reply

